Franklin Countys First News

Letter to the Editor: You can’t fix stupid

If you go into Walmart and defy the greeter and refuse to wear a mask; I know you think people are seeing you as a rugged individual who refuses to conform liberal norms.

But you are wrong.

People are looking at you as stupid.

Four million nine hundred thousand people have contracted the virus in seven months and 150,000 have died. The death toll will likely reach one quarter of a million by the end of this year.

You will wear a seat belt in your car; but you won’t wear a mask to protect yourself and others around you from a virus pandemic?

Unfortunately, we can’t fix stupid.

William Gilliland
Farmington

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

58 Responses »

  1. I whole heartily agree with writer. As Dr. Antonucci (sorry if I misspelled) stated in a letter the other day (plus other area physicians). There's been a policy of stores for who knows how long ... "No Shirt, No Shoes, No Service". Why would any sane person think this now violates their rights?

    I think part of the issue is all these big stores taunted how they were gonna have this great policy of people wearing masks, no mask no shopping. They caved like a bunch of soggy tissues in a rain storm on day one.

    I have asthma and 60% lung capacity. I STILL WEAR A MASK. I limit my time in the stores by knowing what I want, getting it and getting out. People will come up with any excuse not to comply with anything they feel "violates" their space. I can't wear seat belt because …. I can bring in my tea cup poodle because ….

    There are many people with honest reasons whatever the issue is but that should not give you a free pass, it means "you" need to figure out what works to make everyone safe.

    It's not even really about protecting yourself but protecting others, your family members and friends. But as 2 Tim 3:1-5 states in part, people will be lovers of themselves and not open to any agreement. We really really see this in people today. Not just on the issues of to wear or not to wear masks, but on any environmental, political topic or subject of today. It saddens me to see people acting like this but certainly does not surprise.

  2. So true, William. I take heart in my faith in science, especially Darwinism.

  3. A fair reading of the comments posted herein suggest that stupidity is rapidly spreading faster
    than the C19 virus in Franking County

    ...................when will multi function masks be available to the public?

  4. So, is that the breath and scope of your great addition to the conversation Chuck? Very insightful, thanks for chirping in.

  5. So true, I wish others would see it like that. It's nice to see a positive response to this issue!

  6. This article relates too what I have seen in the public of mask wearing.
    1. People constantly adjusting the mask (continuous fave touching)
    2. Disposable trash on the side of the roads also rubber gloves.
    3. People complaining of sore itchy throat and lungs hurt breathing through a mask all day at work.
    There is a lot of false info being spread about masks from elected people. Claims that have not been verified via CDC, 211, or the governors “executive order”.

    Being a Veteran I have had experience dawning a gas mask and know the consequences of a poorly dawned one as well. Although these masks may reduce the risk it is a slight chance it actually works because they are a poorly dawned gas mask.

    https://theconversation.com/four-potential-consequences-of-wearing-face-masks-we-need-to-be-wary-of-140273

  7. To be fair, I bet the "no mask" crowd arent much into seatbelts either.

  8. Shed and Community Member

    Being a bit of a smart a*s is a bit therapeutic for me in that it dampens the propensity to think
    about getting into a proverbial pis*ing contest with skunks (two or more) with no names

    There is no way a "no mask" argument can be made that will stick on the wall when thrown

  9. Chuck, there’s a simple answer. My body, my choice. You got it now? TRUMP2020

  10. Hold the phone...
    July 30, 2020 • 2:28 pm
    To be fair, I bet the "no mask" crowd arent much into seatbelts either.

    Seat belts?!? Oh you mean the things in cars that have scientific study's to prove their effectiveness and were VOTED into law?

    Yes, They are fine-and I use them... Do you hold a block of cheese on your knee while driving?

    A bunch of really smart people say that it lowers accident rates a lot! I dont do it because there is no basis in reality how cheese can make me a better driver, No scientific study's that prove cheese will make me drive better and the majority of us did not vote having cheese on our laps into law.

    I dont wear a mask for the same reasons I dont drive with a block of cheese on my lap, Sounds like you all need to pick up a block of cheese for the car...UNLESS you dont care about others enough to make us feel safe.

  11. I wonder if the people you’ve seen without a mask have had hypoxia, hypoxemia, hypercapnia, asthma, or some anxiety that they have fought to come out and get their essentials only to be mocked by “well-meaning” crusaders who find it necessary to stand 2 feet away and tell the unmasked person off.

    If you want the numbers which the CDC purports here is the link. they may be a little closer to the truth than most of the medias creative accountings.

  12. It's getting easier to find face shields now. So if a mask doesn't work, protect yourself and others with a shield.

  13. Peter - pretty insensitive along with irresponsible. You wearing a mask PROTECTS OTHERS from you. So, your selfish choice doesn't really have an impact on only you. You could be spreading covid-19 and not even know it, which wouldn't surprise me actually. If you didn't put others at risk I say go without the mask, but the truth is you endanger others with your typical childish and selfish attitude.

  14. Peter........that explains it!

    Any truth in the rumor there is a contest at Trump rallys to see who can infect the most stupids?

    Win a Herman Cain tee shirt!

  15. I wear a mask because I don't want to ever infect anyone else if God forbid I have Covid-19 and am not aware. The mask does not help my health but it protects yours
    I totally understand that there is a small sub set of people who can't wear the mask because of existing health conditions. Since Walmart mandated masks, I have seen much better compliance and I assume the non mask wearers are people who have legitimate reasons. No one should be shamed for not wearing or for wearing a mask

    However, for the folks who don't want to wear a mask, consider this. We eliminated indoor smoking because of the risk form second hand smoke, Think of the mask as the same thing. Yes, you have the right to smoke but you don't have the right to pollute the air someone else is breathing. My body, my right does not apply because you can severely harm someone else.

    To this point, the continued spread of this virus is killing the economy and will hurt back to school hopes.

    The only way the kids stay in school beyond October is if the masks become part of our life now.

    Show that you care about America and wear a mask. Even Trump said wearing a mask is considered patriotic. All parties can agree on that.

  16. Some Americans are so whiny and full of excuses, Asia especially China has been dealing with SARS for years and some people spend all day in a mask, baseball started up this week, there are players wearing masks while playing, but ask somebody to wear a mask while in the store for a few minutes and they act like somebody just asked them to drown their kids.

  17. The worst (or best?) thing about this non-pandemic is that it has revealed just how many of our neighbors love nothing more than tattling and nagging, and have absolutely no shame about doing so. From Janet on down, these busybodies seem positively disappointed that the virus didn't turn out to be very severe, and the hospitals were never overwhelmed. As we get further into summer and people stubbornly refuse to get sick, these virus fans keep doubling down.

    Listen to this: "The only way the kids stay in school beyond October is if the masks become part of our life now." How about a big fat NO? YOU can wear a mask every winter (and summer too?) for the rest of YOUR life for fear of a corona (common cold) virus, but I'm not going to, and you and your weird secular virus religion better keep your hands away from my kids.

    We normals are a very patient lot, but it's about time we began to simply say "NO" firmly and resolutely. Don't fall into the trap of thinking you need to give an explanation or an excuse to the naggers and tattle-tales; just say NO and get on with it.

  18. Steve Williams
    July 30, 2020 • 6:23 pm
    I wear a mask because I don't want to ever infect anyone else if God forbid I have Covid-19 and am not aware.

    The mask does not help my health but it protects yours

    I assume the non mask wearers are people who have legitimate reasons.

    However, for the folks who don't want to wear a mask, consider this. We eliminated indoor smoking because of the risk form second hand smoke, Think of the mask as the same thing. Yes, you have the right to smoke but you don't have the right to pollute the air someone else is breathing. My body, my right does not apply because you can severely harm someone else.

    Even Trump said wearing a mask is considered patriotic. All parties can agree on that.

    You do realize there is no study that says you cant transmit or that transmission is actually lowered with masks Right? The best you can muster is "It stands to reason" "It may help" "Its possible that masks could"

    If you stay home, and never drive you can 100% be assured you wont harm anyone...That is truth.

    Second hand smoke had so many studies done (actual study where we have actual data) that it makes sense for me to go without a smoke to not offend or harm someone, Masks have no study to prove they work even minutely and if I go along with no evidence and wear a silly napkin on my face because someone said it stands to reason, What is the next silly thing you would like to force me to do with no proof of outcome?

    By the way- that trump part? Do you just believe people not wearing masks must be Trump supporters?

    Hrtlss Bstrd
    July 31, 2020 • 12:05 am
    Some Americans are so whiny and full of excuses, Asia especially China has been dealing with SARS for years and some people spend all day in a mask, baseball started up this week, there are players wearing masks while playing, but ask somebody to wear a mask while in the store for a few minutes and they act like somebody just asked them to drown their kids.

    Ya...your a real american hero buddy, lets all follow China's lead they know what there doing for sure and you should certainly trust all numbers, data sets and any study done in communist China Comrade...

    Joe
    July 31, 2020 • 6:55 am

    Listen to this: "The only way the kids stay in school beyond October is if the masks become part of our life now." How about a big fat NO? YOU can wear a mask every winter (and summer too?) for the rest of YOUR life for fear of a corona (common cold) virus, but I'm not going to, and you and your weird secular virus religion better keep your hands away from my kids.

    We normals are a very patient lot, but it's about time we began to simply say "NO" firmly and resolutely. Don't fall into the trap of thinking you need to give an explanation or an excuse to the naggers and tattle-tales; just say NO and get on with it.

    Im glad there are some adults in this conversation!

  19. Chuck Davis,

    Honestly now ???
    I refuse to believe you are that.

    Everything Is Beautiful.

  20. Pure, I am not going to engage in a back and forth with you.

    I will reply to your question about Trump.
    Poll after poll shows a biases by Political identity in regards to mask wearing. Democrats in favor of wearing masks either all the time or most of the time as high as 86%. The same numbers for Republicans is about 51%.
    Overall, about 30% of Americans are not supportive of masks. Simple math shows that the majority of these folks are Republicans. Since Trump has a 85+ approval from Republicans, it doesn't "just stand to reason" it is plain math that yes, the majority on non mask wearers are Trump supporters.
    I thought it might help Trump supporters to realize that President Trump says he is in favor of wearing masks.
    Just doing a public service announcement.

    The complex math behind this will be explained in a sort of footnote below.

    I'll look for your adult guidance.
    I sincerely hope you never contract Covid-19 and that if you do, you never infect any our your friends or family who are at risk.

    Math explained:.
    Lets assume half the people polled are Democrat and half Republican.
    If 100 people in each party polled, those against masks are 14 Democrats and 49 Republicans.
    This gives us 63 people against masks. 63/200 is 31.5% so we need to loose 3 people, and lets say that we lose 3 Republicans.
    Now, we have 46 Republicans. If we say that out of the 100 Republicans polled, the 15% who don't support him are against masks, which means we take away another 15 from 46 and using subtraction, additions tricky pal, we are left with 31 people who area against masks and are Trump supporters. Help me out as I am sure only an adult can determine the ratio of 31/14.

  21. Steve Williams
    July 31, 2020 • 2:17 pm
    Pure, I am not going to engage in a back and forth with you.

    Okay, probably for the best.

    If 100 people in each party polled,

    Oh jeez, you shoulda said you had this preconception because 200 out of 300+ million have been polled! I totally agree that 200 people represent 300+ million very well....

    By the way, since we’re doing this to protect others- can I knock the fast food out of obese peoples hands or is that too much protection?

  22. Mr Gilliland,
    "I know you think people are seeing you as a rugged individual who refuses to conform liberal norms.
    But you are wrong.
    People are looking at you as stupid." This is a poor excuse for a persuasive argument.

    Hrtlss,
    Saying "Asia especially China has been dealing with SARS for years and some people spend all day in a mask" does more to question the effectiveness of masks than it does to prove it.
    "Ask somebody to wear a mask while in the store for a few minutes and they act like somebody just asked them to drown their kids." If you ask with the same tone as Mr Gilliland's letter I think you'll find conflict no matter the topic.

    RIP Civil Discourse

  23. There is NO evidence that masks reduce transmission of airborne viruses? What kinda bs is that?

    Doctors and nurses in surgical settings started donning masks when it became clear that breathing on patients while cutting them open increases the risk of infection. Similarly, masks have been worn throughout the twentieth and twenty-first century to eliminate the transmission of such viruses as the flu, SARS, etc.

    If you mean there has not been a single peer-reviewed double blind study on masks and Covid-19, then consider that we have 150 years of evidence (including from peer-reviewed double-blind studies) that masks work.

    Stop pretending humanity has never faced a pandemic and thus has no idea what works.

  24. Pure, thanks for sharing up my point. My body, my choice as long as I don't hurt anyone else. If diabetes were contagious, then you can slap the food away. And, smoking is the perfect example. Smokers exhale a plume of smoke that has carcinogens (acknowledged by the tobacco companies) and it smells awful to a non smoker and ruins their air. Individual rights don't allow someone to violate others rights. Covid is the same way.

    Thanks for your adult understanding of statistics. You do realize that without statistical modelling, digital communication is not possible.

    How about being an adult and using your real name.

  25. @Peter, Suzanne, and Pure
    August 1, 2020 • 8:28 am
    There is NO evidence that masks reduce transmission of airborne viruses? What kinda bs is that?

    Doctors and nurses in surgical settings started donning masks when it became clear that breathing on patients while cutting them open increases the risk of infection. Similarly, masks have been worn throughout the twentieth and twenty-first century to eliminate the transmission of such viruses as the flu, SARS, etc.

    If you mean there has not been a single peer-reviewed double blind study on masks and Covid-19, then consider that we have 150 years of evidence (including from peer-reviewed double-blind studies) that masks work.

    Stop pretending humanity has never faced a pandemic and thus has no idea what works.

    Well if flapping gums and typing fingers were proof then you have plenty, alas they are not proof and the “science” says evidence that they COULD reduce transmission is small and weak.

    No evedince of anything other than a big maybe..
    You would like to equate professionals working in a medical environment with general public putting a napkin on there face? That’s your proof and you wonder why anyone would be skeptical.

    Do you really believe that all these experts whom told you masks were ineffective suddenly found all this information you refer to and that’s why they changed their mind? Or would it be more likely that political pressure made the change of mind happen?

    Steve Williams
    August 1, 2020 • 9:42 am
    Pure, thanks for sharing up my point. My body, my choice as long as I don't hurt anyone else. If diabetes were contagious, then you can slap the food away. And, smoking is the perfect example. Smokers exhale a plume of smoke that has carcinogens (acknowledged by the tobacco companies) and it smells awful to a non smoker and ruins their air. Individual rights don't allow someone to violate others rights. Covid is the same way.

    Thanks for your adult understanding of statistics. You do realize that without statistical modelling, digital communication is not possible.

    How about being an adult and using your real name.

    Well, hard to tell what to believe with you Steve...last I heard from you “you weren’t going back and forth with me”

    I already agreed that 200 people chosen for a survey is most definitely representative of 300+ million Americans.

    The fast food part was a joke, called humor- if you could see me without a mask you would realize I was smiling and just trying to lighten this up a bit.

    Why would you care about my Christian name? Looking for a date or what?

  26. @Peter, Suzanne, and Pure
    August 1, 2020 • 8:28 am
    There is NO evidence that masks reduce transmission of airborne viruses? What kinda bs is that?

    Doctors and nurses in surgical settings started donning masks when it became clear that breathing on patients while cutting them open increases the risk of infection. Similarly, masks have been worn throughout the twentieth and twenty-first century to eliminate the transmission of such viruses as the flu, SARS, etc.

    If you mean there has not been a single peer-reviewed double blind study on masks and Covid-19, then consider that we have 150 years of evidence (including from peer-reviewed double-blind studies) that masks work.

    Stop pretending humanity has never faced a pandemic and thus has no idea what works.

    If anyone really cares about facts- here is an actual peer reviewed study from 2016...

  27. Amanda takes a less than charitable shot at Brother Gilliand charging that his "letter' is a poor excuse for a persuasive argument.

    I think that Gilliland wood be the first to say that he is not making an argument for or against anything, it is an
    articulation of an inference he draws from an observation he has made

    No one yet has articulated anything rational or otherwise suggesting that the wearing of masks is a "bad" idea

  28. chuckdavis,
    Question for you,
    Was your comment that people attending a political rally might be having a contest to see who could infect the most stupid, , a stupid comment?
    Now,, dont keep proving the point...

    Everything Is Beautiful

  29. Pure Whatsherface's link supporting her "argument" titled below re masks may be no longer relevant according to Oral Health, see titled new post Its all there to read if ya want to on the Oral Health site!

    "Why Face Masks Don’t Work: A Revealing Review
    October 18, 2016
    by John Hardie, BDS, MSc, PhD, FRCDC

    Yesterday’s Scientific Dogma is Today’s Discarded Fable"

    ************************************
    New post by Oral Health

    Update: Why Face Masks Don’t Work: A Revealing Review
    October 18, 2016
    by Oral Health

    If you are looking for “Why Face Masks Don’t Work: A Revealing Review” by John Hardie, BDS, MSc, PhD, FRCDC, it has been removed. The content was published in 2016 and is no longer relevant in our current climate.

    Please note that the content from Oral Health Group is primarily intended to educate and inform dental professionals.

  30. I know there are some who won't change their mind despite the facts, here's a look at the science behind masks (much more recent than 2016: https://www.ucsf.edu/news/2020/06/417906/still-confused-about-masks-heres-science-behind-how-face-masks-prevent

    But to me it's not "stupid" but "rude." There are many non-essential workers at high risk. Going without a mask endangers them the most. People may disagree with the science behind masks, but people - every one of us - are fallible. Everyone might be wrong. So when someone goes against what people believe will help keep us safe, they are simply being rude. Even if they don't increase the risk, they probably increase the stress on people who are high risk. Those essential workers have to have masks on hours on end. If someone can't wear one a few minutes in a store, they are showing themselves to be selfish and rude. They may not be stupid, but selfish and rude includes smart people who are unable to admit that they might be wrong about something.

  31. Well, the reasoning behind using the 2016 study is that it was done in modern times but without a political climate pushing one way or another and you have no data to discount that study.

    A) there are a multitude of people whom Can’t for various reasons wear a mask even for a few moments, could be health whether physical or mental. It’s as varied as to why some people can’t scuba dive.

    B) forcing people to wear masks with no proof of outcome, pretending they are safe because they wear one is quite a thing to do. If you are high risk and believe you have a chance to catch this- PLEASE DO NOT BELIEVE THAT AN UNFITTED MASK MAKES YOU SAFE OR EVEN SAFER.

    C) I’m not trying to talk anyone out of not wearing a mask if they like, all I’ve asked for is a shred of proof that masks do anything to help anyone outside clinical settings. There are mountains of actual study’s done before this political game took over and all of them say No, it doesn’t work. Your links all same same thing, it’s possible it could help but we have no idea.

    D) if you want to mandate wearing of masks the burden of proof that they work is on you, I don’t have to prove they don’t work.

    Scott, your links do not say what you want them to say- the fact is every actual study done on mask effectiveness says the same thing.

  32. Chuck Davis sinks to a new low....

  33. Oh I see, Chuck, he's just venting. How nice that your comrade has chosen this platform to complain for his personal validation rather than the betterment of society. Because, you know, there aren't half a dozen other mask conversations currently happening on DB and this World NEEDS more negativity spat about.

    BTW, I'm not arguing against masks. (Anyone else remember way back in March when Trump suggested wearing masks in public and the experts disagreed?) I'm arguing against the judgment without understanding that's become the norm. The self proclaimed experts/mask police who think that they can hide behind their mask and yell at people in public like they're doing the World a favor. (Hint-you're solidifying their resolve.)

    There are legitimate (doctor approved) exemptions and those people need groceries too. Masks are recommended for interactions within 6 feet, so stay 6 feet away from the unmasked. Do you really think the air around them and the products they touch are more contaminated by them than someone who is constantly touching their mask, or worse, their eyes?

    Scott Erb, I agree people are fallible. I choose to err on the side of caution for my family and my community. I assume the extra simple step relieves the stress of others but I don't know that it does. And calling people stupid, rude or selfish for not wearing a mask is stupid, rude and selfish if you don't know why and base your words and actions on your own preconceived notions.

  34. Here's a solution. If you can't wear a mask, even for a few minutes, ask someone else to go to the store for you.

    I'm sick of hearing people make tiny excuses for not doing the right thing. It only reinforces the idea that our citizenry is not capable of seeing itself through this effort but must be guided as planned. You realize we've maintained a war effort for decades because just over 3,000 were killed by terrorists? I know you do and that you were willing to start another war with Iran a year ago. Buck up and stop giving us excuses when you know well that very little is being asked of you!

  35. Obedience is not a virtue. Those who are shaming maskless civilians don't exactly appear to be concerned for the well-being of those they are shaming, nor even concerned for their own health, necessarily, but rather, are pouring from quite empty cups to garner a little power.

    You have no freedom, you have owners.

  36. I just watched a clip on a Maine news program online. It outlined ideas across the country for stopping the spread of virus at our public schools. There is no way a few pieces of plexiglass and some masks are going to stop the classrooms and schools from becoming virus farms. It all looked so nice, desks spaced properly, everything in it's place, nice and neat.... except none of the examples had children in the picture. Hands smeared all over shields, kids being kids pulling down face masks, sneezing, come on. Oh, and each child will be assigned a seat with a number so they can trace problems when they happen.
    There are some really big changes coming up. Public education will be forefront.

  37. This notion that the populist is always right and should be afforded to do as they please rather than as experts recommend in time of crisis has been repeatedly demonstrated to be the worst way for a nation to operate. When this pandemic is through we are going to be talking about the 100,000 who could have been saved and the trillions in debt spending that could once again have been avoided had the appropriate organizations simply been left to manage it.

  38. Pure, my links show that the science says masks are almost certainly helpful at stopping the spread. Face it, you are trying to deny reality, and it's pretty obvious. You're wrong. Admit it. I suspect you'll hold on to your delusion no matter what, denying science, pretending like you need proof, and making false claims. You apparently think you're infallible and all the scientists world over who make the recommendations and have the studies are wrong, and some non-scientist in rural Maine can pontificate that they know better than all the experts. Well, you do take the cake in misplaced arrogance.

    Then K. Masterman, you have no idea what freedom is. If you think having to wear a mask in a store is an attack on your freedom, then you are the poster child for entitled privilege. You have no clue what real tryanny is, I've been to former Communist countries and studied real tyranny. Having to wear a mask for a short time is not even close to that. If you think you lost freedom because of that, and those who wear mask are "owned," then you are completely out of touch with reality. Whining about masks is childish, saying it's an attack on freedom is laughable. It's the essence of entitled privilege when spoiled Americans think having to do something slightly inconvenient is an attack on their freedom. Grow up.

  39. Suggestions for all the blind supporters of mask edicts. You’ll never mandate restrictions on real Americans, they won’t stand for it. As for the “at risk”, I would suggest you keep yourself away from the public because your infirmity is not enough to curtail the rights of the majority of real Americans. Furthermore, whatever affliction you suffer is not our responsibility. Obesity, diabetes, Alcoholism, smokers diseases and other lifestyle ailments are truly self inflicted. If you want to parade around in a Halloween get up, great, go for it.

    Maine and most of America is going back to work because they aren’t on the dole and they need to feed their families. It’s called a job for a reason, something our inept one term governor just doesn’t get. The folks sitting home collecting, yeah, they favor anything that continues their free ride. EZ money right? Schools can certainly open, but expect resistance from those, in the system, used to the free money and no accountability for the kids educational progression. If you think you’re “at risk” and work in the bloated educational bubble, consider retiring or seek alternative employment. Lots of Local businesses out there looking for labor. Hannaford and Wally World come to mind.

  40. Scott Erb

    they probably increase the stress on people who are high risk. Those essential workers have to have masks on hours on end. If someone can't wear one a few minutes in a store, they are showing themselves to be selfish and rude. They may not be stupid, but selfish and rude includes smart people who are unable to admit that they might be wrong about something.

    Probably...did you poll people on this or is this another Erb-conceived notion?

    Right Scott, you got it- anyone could be wrong- IF you are wrong your putting people at great risk by pretending there is evidence a napkin on your face is some kind of safety.

    IF I am wrong...what exactly have I done other than urge people to expect proof before counting on a garmit for safety.

    Im not against anything other than politics putting peoples health and freedom on the line rather than admit this lock down and masking is far worse for everyone than the disease itself is.

    Chuck Davis
    August 1, 2020 • 2:34 pm
    Pure Whatsherface's link supporting her "argument"

    Not a woman but good going on scoring 1 with pre-conceived notions.

    Jay
    August 2, 2020 • 8:08 am
    Here's a solution. If you can't wear a mask, even for a few minutes, ask someone else to go to the store for you.

    I have another, If your afraid of coming across an Un-Masked Despot even for a brief encounter at 6' away Maybe ask someone else to go to the store for you...See how that works?

    Jay
    I know you do and that you were willing to start another war with Iran a year ago. Buck up and stop giving us excuses when you know well that very little is being asked of you!

    Whoa...I have nothing at all to do with Iran, Kinda doubt anyone else here masked or otherwise did or do...What the heck does a war with Iran a year ago have to do with this?

    Oh I get it...your going politics on this- Just to ease your mind I will let you know i am a Libertarian and not a member of either cult of personality.

  41. Peter, you are simply wrong. First, Maine is a model for the country because our COVID rates are low, as our state has opened responsibly - unlike Texas and Florida, which followed the irresponsible kind of model you suggest. That's why Governor Mills is seen as a kind of hero here - keeping us safe, but also allowing considerable economic activity. So, you'd rather at risk people lose their jobs or stay home so you don't have to inconvenience yourself by wearing a mask in stores. Wow, that is not only selfish, but immature and petty. Because you don't want a minor inconvenience of wearing a mask, you'd put essential workers at risk, or ask them to stay out of public. That is disgusting. You should be ashamed of yourself. People like you are the problem, why so many are dying. People who are unwilling to look at each other and see a community working together. Instead you want to fantasize that everyone is lazy, wants to control you, or trying to get easy money. What a bizarre little world you've created for yourself. Don't be surprised if the rest of us don't play along.

  42. @Captain Planetwhatshis face

    "Chuck Davis sinks to a new low"

    Guilty for sure! You are probably write about that I never realized that interacting with nameless bottom feeders was contagious I need to upgrade my mask I guess Maybe I can rummage through some dentist's trash and get a used mask that is not deemed necessary anymore Pruewhatserface probably has a list I could look at

  43. Scott buddy,

    I’m all out of empathy and compassion and so are the many Mainers that have been deemed not worthy by your “hero” governor. She certainly isn’t doing anything for the folks out of work since March, nor does she care. How about the no show legislature? Do ya think they should have been part of these liberal edicts or do you support the dictator socialist model? Not much in the way of by-partisan participation. I’m confident that suits you just fine. My bet is you didn’t lose a dime in this fiasco while lecturing the rest of us on a regular basis. A bit of advice, don’t have this conversation in a bar room with unemployed Mainers. Wear your costume, keep collecting and stay safe out there.

  44. Scott Erb
    August 2, 2020 • 2:05 pm
    Peter, you are simply wrong. First, Maine is a model for the country because our COVID rates are low, as our state has opened responsibly - unlike Texas and Florida, which followed the irresponsible kind of model you suggest. That's why Governor Mills is seen as a kind of hero here - keeping us safe, but also allowing considerable economic activity. So, you'd rather at risk people lose their jobs or stay home so you don't have to inconvenience yourself by wearing a mask in stores. Wow, that is not only selfish, but immature and petty. Because you don't want a minor inconvenience of wearing a mask, you'd put essential workers at risk, or ask them to stay out of public. That is disgusting. You should be ashamed of yourself. People like you are the problem, why so many are dying. People who are unwilling to look at each other and see a community working together. Instead you want to fantasize that everyone is lazy, wants to control you, or trying to get easy money. What a bizarre little world you've created for yourself. Don't be surprised if the rest of us don't play along.

    Chuck Davis
    August 2, 2020 • 2:14 pm
    @Captain Planetwhatshis face

    "Chuck Davis sinks to a new low"

    Guilty for sure! You are probably write about that I never realized that interacting with nameless bottom feeders was contagious I need to upgrade my mask I guess Maybe I can rummage through some dentist's trash and get a used mask that is not deemed necessary anymore Pruewhatserface probably has a list I could look at

    When you have ZERO facts, Name calling becomes a great approach.

    Nearly 100 years of mask effectiveness study's can now be thrown out the window because people on TV playing a game of politics said so...And some doctors (just since it became a politics game) say "our best guess is this might help" which has become "Your killing people by not wearing a mask" ...

    This is Science to the two of you? Unbelievable.

    Arrogant and Selfish could be a term one may use to describe someone who wants to force others to do something (regardless of their ability to do so) With absolutely not a shred of evidence that it prevents anything from happening while a mountain of evidence suggests otherwise.

    AGAIN- I do not believe anyone here is trying to talk people out of wearing masks, You are trying to talk people into not only wearing them but believing their is actual evidence that they work. Maybe try again without the name calling and possibly say something that actually makes sense.

  45. William Gilliland, You do realize that, most people wear a seatbelt just so they don't have to deal with the pain in the ass that getting pulled over for not wearing one is.

  46. scott erb says "Gov Mills is seen as a hero here",,

    Ok play that card and I get to play,,
    Here's 2 other leaders who are seen as heros,
    President Donald Trump
    Gov Paul LePage

    See how dumb this thread has become...
    Impeach Mills!!

    Everything Is Beautiful.

  47. Poor Chuck, doesn’t know right from write... I’m sure he’s in someone’s trash right now. (Please note proper usage of our language). He could be the poster boy for what’s killing our great country.

  48. Pure, you seem to be retreating as you're faced with evidence that it's not just wrong, but rude and obnoxiously selfish for someone to refuse to mask because despite evidence and recommendations from experts world wide, somehow your standards for proof have not been met. If you think everyone else but you is crazy, well, you probably have it wrong.

    Right now the US passport is almost worthless. Because we are seen as the worst country in the world at working together to contain the virus, we are allowed to travel to Mexico, Turkey, and I think two other small countries that aren't very lucrative for vacation. Delta and other airlines are throwing out and having arrested passengers without masks, and creating a list to be shared with airlines banning passengers who refuse to mask (to be sure, that would be a stronger deterrent if we could fly anywhere). There is a reason we're being looked down on as a failure of a country in dealing with this - people who want to deny science because they think their "freedoms" are threatened *eyes rolling*, or people who dance and weave and refuse to recognize science. The results are in the news headlines every day. It's objective truth, not opinion.

  49. I'm dropping out of this discussion, I'm repeating myself. I mean no ill will to those who distrust masks, and if I see someone maskless in a store I give them the benefit of a doubt and assume they have a medical condition that makes wearing a mask harmful. I don't want anyone not to be kind to others due to this. I simply urge everyone to work together, take this seriously, and do what we need to do to keep our community safe - and not go the way Florida, Texas and states in the south and west are going. We can choose to be kind and courteous to each other, and try to keep each other safe. It doesn't have to be political.

Categories

Archives